• Home
  • Products
  • Services & Solutions
  • Downloads
  • About RICOH

Ricoh Sustainable Development Award at Intel International Science and Engineering Fair

The annual Ricoh Sustainable Development Award (RSDA) recognizes high school students whose technological and scientific innovations best reflect the principles of sustainability – balancing economic development with environmental responsibility. Each year, Ricoh Americas Corporation awards $25,000 in scholarships to students whose projects are chosen at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF), the world’s largest pre-college science competition.

Since 2005, Ricoh, one of approximately 70 special award organizations at Intel ISEF, has presented the RSDA, an independent and distinguished award. To date, Ricoh has awarded over $325,000 in scholarships to young scholars in the U.S. and abroad. Please view some of the previous award winners’ profiles and learn how the RSDA has made an impact on their lives.

RSDA Winners’ Profiles

2013 – Andrew Quinn Ross (Utah, USA)  ISEF Brochure
Andrew Quinn Ross Winning Project (Team project with Jed Donald Grow): Discovered new ways to extract electricity and hydrogen from wastewater – a potential clean energy boon that also helps purify the wastewater.
2012 – Cory Nicholson Owan (Arizona, USA)  ISEF Brochure
Cory Nicholson Owan Winning Project: Designed and constructed a modified Stirling engine capable of being powered solely by sunlight. His design provides a conversion efficiency greater than most photovoltaic’s.
2011 – Yinshuo Zhang (Minnesota, USA)  ISEF Brochure
Yinshuo Zhang Winning Project: Designed a low-cost solar energy system suitable to power a typical North American household. The design approximates the performance of parabolic concentrators using a series of much less expensive flat mirrors.
2011 – Kyle Scott Saleeby (Florida, USA)  ISEF Brochure
Kyle Scott Saleeby Winning Project: Created a waterwheel from recycled materials which harnessed enough energy from tidal water flow to power LED streetlights over a 1,000 meter bridge.
2009 – Andrew Kipling Miller (North Carolina, USA)  ISEF Brochure
Andrew Kipling Miller Designed a unique windmill that boosts power production from wind turbines.
2009 – Hetal Kanjibhai Vaishnav (India)  ISEF Brochure
Hetal Kanjibhai Vaishnav Winning Project: Converted non-recyclable multilayered film plastic into recycled composite materials.
2008 – Erica Elizabeth David (Wyoming, USA)  ISEF Brochure
Erica Elizabeth Winning Project: Development of a Hollow Frame Snow Fence, which captures snow for water conservation in arid climates. This mechanism, currently being patented, increases soil moisture and vegetation establishment.
2006 – Pieter Christiaan Berning Luyt (South Africa)  ISEF Brochure
Pieter Christiaan Berning Luyt Winning Project: Combined wind power and miniature hydroelectric generation to provide economical, efficient and environmentally friendly electricity in rural communities.

Students can lean more about participating in the competition by visiting Submission Rules and Intel ISEF Special Awards Organizations

Page Top